Church Closed on Christmas

Many of us have read the articles such as this one concerning the controversy of the year.  Since Christmas falls on a Sunday, should churches be closed.

Both sides offer their reasons (some employing a logic more twisted than an Aunt Annies Pretzel) for why the church should/should not be opened.

I will now offer my opinion on this matter.  In the bible we see the early church gathering together regularly on the first day of the week.  This day was so associated with the gathering of the church, it was referred to as “the Lord’s Day”.

The bible never mentions a day to celebrate the birth of Jesus.

Do we follow the biblical mandate to meet on the Lord’s Day or do we allow a man made holiday to take precedence?  What other man made days should override the commands of the bible?  Can I take my birthday off from church?  How about MadMommaMonk‘s birthday?  Or the birthdays of the miniMonks?

If you haven’t figured it out by now I find this practice of subverting God’s Word to man’s will repugnent.  I can only weep and pray forgivness for the Laodicean attitude of the church in America.

Leave a comment